Theories, Models & Frameworks – Part 2 of 2

This was a great activity to do as it not only refreshed my memory of all the different theories, models and frameworks we have been introduced to this semester but also made me realise that there are some that I really like and some that I know I will never use. It really is a case of pulling the good bits out of frameworks that work for you and that serve the purpose that you require. For my assignment I have drawn from the Social Constructivist  theory as well as Connectivism. I’ve also used  TPACK, TIP, PKM and Blooms to guide my planning. I feel the combination of all of these has helped me plan learning experiences appropriate to my specific context.

 

Theory Purpose Application
CLEM Help understand how to learn about new ICT and how to use it to enhance student learning. If there are any new ICT to be used it might help your explorations.
TPACK A framework to ensure you integrate the three types of knowledge: technological, pedagogical and content, required by teachers to teach effectively. What do I know about the ICT I’m planning on using (TK)? What is the content I will be teaching and how will this be best taught (PCK)?
Backward Design Design effective learning experiences by working backwards: identify, determine, plan I will use a similar framework, TIP for my planning.
SAMAR Used to evaluate ICT being used in the classroom. How beneficial or worthwhile is the ICT I am planning to use. What is the purpose of using skype, Voki, iPad and word processing software?
TIP A guide that helps you plan and integrate ICT effectively and be able to deal with any issues. What do I want students to learn? How can I use ICT to enhance that learning? What ICT is available to me?
5E’s Breaks learning and teaching into a cycle of phases: engage, explore, explain, elaborate & evaluate to engage students and allow students to construct their own knowledge. Is there an opportunity to teach a mini unit? Does the school have the resources to conduct experiments or hands-on activities?
Connectivism Emphasises the role of social and cultural contexts in this rapidly changing digital world. How can I connect students with others (such as native English speakers)?
Bloom’s Taxonomy Helps to classify learning objectives: allows you to draw from different levels of Bloom’s. Do my learning objectives use appropriate levels of Bloom’s? Do my lesson plans require students to use HOT?
Postman’s 5 things To make us think critically of ICT integration. I will not be drawing on this theory to guide my planning
Toolbelt/ TEST Helps guide my decisions on what ‘tool’ is best used to achieve what I want to achieve. Task: Limited ICT available to me. Environment: Computer lab with more than half the computers not working, no ICT in the classroom. Skills: What experience/knowledge/ confidence/ creativity do I possess? Tools: What ICT can I utilise, have access to?
PKM A tool to help me organise, share, store, grow and understand knowledge. What resources can I draw on to give me ideas on integrating ICT when there is limited ICT available.  Has anyone in my PLN experienced lack of ICT on their pracs? What  ideas and suggestions can I get from my PLN?

Leave a comment